A Damsel in Distress

I’ve been taught to be fairly self-sufficient; not in a feminist way, more out of necessity. I’ve got no problem cooking and cleaning for my (currently imaginary) man – I actually really enjoy that sort of antiquated role on the rare occasions I get to play house.

However, the thought occurred to me as a waived off the fourth gentlemen who offered to help me change my flat tire over the weekend that maybe this “I can do it on my own” attitude is hurting me when it comes to men. Should I be more of a damsel in distress?

When I got my first car my dad insisted that I know how to do two very basic things – put on my spare tire and check all the fluids. You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to figure these things out, yet I’m amazed by how many women don’t know how to do them. They’re content to call AAA or wait for a dude to stop and help them. Sorry, I’ve got things to do. I can have that sucker on in 8 minutes if I go at full speed. I generally only take help if I’m physically not strong enough to do it myself. (Which happens less often than you’d think given that I have no upper body strength.)

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I see girls ask for all sorts of things I would never imagine asking for. One guy I know does taxes for his ex because she “can’t figure it out.” (And I’m not talking complicated taxes, I’m talking fill-in-the-numbers-and-hit-submit taxes.) Another guy’s girlfriend gets upset if he doesn’t make sure she makes it in the door safely. (Nice gesture, yes. Necessary, no.) Then there’s a chick who won’t let her boyfriend leave without tucking her in before bed. (I’ve never had it done, but it sounds kind of awkward.)
I’m not mocking these ladies by any means, I’ve just never even thought to do these things.

For what it’s worth, I polled three different guys asking, “A girl who knows how to change a tire – sexy or a turn off?” and here are the responses I got:

Guy A: I think it’s sexy. (He owns a Jeep.)
Guy B: I don’t know. I think Godly girls are sexy. (True, but not at all the point.)
Guy C: Sexy. (I actually expected this one to go the other way.)

Granted the sample size is small and I asked a very specific question about a very broad subject matter, but it does prove one thing for certain – girls think way more about inconsequential things than guys do. 😉

Leave a Reply

