Who’s that lady?


“She’s just one of the guys.”

I hear this phrase spoken about me at least once a week. It’s not something I fight. Actually, I embrace it. For the most part, I find girls to be too irrational and dramatic. I’m generally amazed that dudes even put up with us. Even I wish I could leave me when I rarely board my emotional roller coaster.

You see, I grew up with my brother and two male cousins. Sure, I had a couple girl friends and we did the regular girl stuff – playing with Barbies, putting on far too much makeup and dancing to New Kids on the Block – but for the most part I was more content exploring the creek or playing basketball with my Dad. I’ve spent years perfecting the art of fitting in with the boys. I can hold intelligent conversations about sports and I rival the best when it comes to “that’s what she said” jokes. (I’ve told at least four today already.)

But the simple fact is that I am a girl. No matter how I may fight it, I get emotional. My feelings get hurt. I occasionally respond to things irrationally. I hate it, but it’s bound to happen… I just do my best to keep it to a minimum.

With the new year comes reflection. While I have no desire to change my dude-ish interests or alter my personality, I must admit that I’m no longer content not being noticed. Don’t get me wrong, I HATE being the center of attention but at some point, it’s hard to always blend into the background. Basically I want to be the type of girl that I gravitate toward – spiritual, pretty, funny, smart, well-dressed, witty, kind, confident and comfortable.

As most of you know, I lost 50 lbs. last year which has returned me to my high school weight. While it’s a great start and I’m very proud of what I’ve accomplished, it’s only the beginning to what I hope to achieve. I discussed my resolutions over at The Poncho, but the reason I’ve begun this blog is because I need your help.

Dudely to Dainty will be filled with all my girly queries and I’m hoping you, the wonderful, beautiful ladies in my life, will offer your tips, advice and/or a listening ear. Topics will range from fashion to fitness to my random ponderings – I promise to do my best to make them as entertaining as possible and as interactive as I can.
After all, the more participation, the more fun it is.

…That’s what she said.

8 thoughts on “Who’s that lady?

  1. My first bit of advice is embrace yourself as you are, be proud of your accomplishments, and know you have room to grow (or shrink in this case). Stop being so hard on yourself, you are beautiful, lovable, funny, smart, honest, etc…You are an awesomely lazy woman who captured my heart, see you how I see you and you will be fine!!!! I LOVE YOU POWDER…YOU GOT THIS!
    -DARKIE #1

    • Did I ever tell you that you’re my favorite darkie? You know, right behind Kevin Durant and Fresh Prince… (Not Will Smith, Fresh Prince.)

      Seriously though, this is very sweet. Thank you, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

