To Your Health

Is “delicious” food more important to you than your health?

You may have gathered by now that I love movies. What you may have missed is that I’m a sucker for a good documentary. I’ve seen films on everything from spelling bees to the West Memphis 3, but the subject I watch the most documentaries about is food. Food, Inc., Super Size Me, Forks Over Knives, Dive!, Fat Head – I could go on. My most recent food doc viewing was a movie called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead.
Listen, I know documentaries are biased. The entire point of documentaries is to teach you someone’s opinion about a certain topic. Still, I find it interesting to hear other people’s view points as long as they’re presented well. (Unlike Super Size Me. So you’re telling me if I eat at McDonald’s every day and go out of my way to do as little physical activity as possible it’ll be detrimental to my health? No kidding. Did you really need to make a documentary to prove that theory?) Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead struck a chord with  me for a few reasons and I highly recommend it to those with an open mind about dieting and health. However, I’m not writing this post to talk about films, rather the thoughts this particular movie brought up.

1. How important is health to you, really? 
Throughout the movie, Joe Cross asks people across the country what they think about their health. In most cases, people admitted that they don’t believe they’re very healthy. The average self-admitted life expectancy for the overweight people questioned was around 55. FIFTY-FIVE! That would make me at almost 29, over the hill. Wow. In my mind, I feel I’ve got a good 53 – 55 years left in me. I was shocked so many people believe they’ll die so young.
After hearing their responses, Joe would then ask if these people would consider doing something to become healthier and extend their life. Overwhelmingly the response was no. Why? “I just don’t have the will power to do it.” How incredibly sad.

2. There’s only one thing you can control…
Most people said they were incapable of living healthy because they simply don’t have the will power to do it. I call BS. You’re lazy and you don’t want to do it. There’s a clear difference. I’m not trying to point fingers here. Lord knows I’ve used the same excuse hundreds of times, but let’s be honest here – we could if we wanted to.
It’s funny how, in a society like ours, we complain so often that we can’t control things in our lives, yet the one thing we have full control over, we don’t want to take responsibility for. If we would just change the way we eat and take 30 minutes out of our day 4 – 5 times a week to be active in one way or another, we could completely change our lives.

3. Why not try?
Juicing for 61 days is extreme. Of course, Joe never asks viewers to go to that extreme. What he does challenge you to do is try it… and not for 61 days, for 10. He also made that valid point that even if you only make it through 3 days, at least you tried.That counts for something.
Okay Mr. Cross, I’ll try it. A 10-day juice fast. I don’t know if I’ll make it all 10 days; I don’t even know if I’ll make it 3 days, but I’m willing to give it a shot. I have everything to gain and nothing to lose. I’m aware that it’s expensive and I understand concerns about getting the nutrients I need to be healthy, but I am doing my research on the recipes I will need on a daily basis to maintain a good nutrition level. If at any point my body gives me signs that it cannot handle a juice-only diet, I’ll stop. Plain and simple.

So again I ask, what is your health worth to you? Is giving up fried, starchy foods and sitting on the couch all evening, every evening worth seeing your kids grow up? Is it worth saving yourself thousands of dollars in medical bills and painful illness? Is it worth feeling good about yourself?
You and you alone have the power to stay the same or make a change.

2 thoughts on “To Your Health

  1. I love that documentary! Colin was all about going on a juice fast after watching it. Though I truly have to say, I love eating healthy and never feel deprived. That’s the honest truth. Maybe I have my mom to thank for introducing my palate to vegetables early and often, but I much prefer whole, unprocessed foods to boxed and bagged items. One of my favorite lunches is black beans with an avocado, cilantro and salsa, or a sweet potato with black beans and Cholula.Very satisfying, and very nutrient dense so you feel satiated with a moderate portion. This isn’t to say I never have fast food because if I want it, I get it. Life is too short to never have Chick-fil-a, but I just don’t want it that often because I genuinely LOVE foods deemed healthy. Maybe I’m a freak, I don’t know. I just hate when healthy becomes synonymous with flavorless and boring, which I feel is the perspective of the majority in this country. Oh, if I could show them the way!! Ha.

    • I need recipes from you. I’ve tried a couple things this weekend and they were pretty gross and flavorless. Plus, I know you love spicy stuff and that’s my favorite!

Leave a Reply

