90 Day Challenge

Carey and I at Green & Grilled

If you’ve been following my Facebook account at all, you probably noticed a semi-cryptic message about changes happening in my life. Many have asked me what exactly that entails, so here’s the skinny (That’s a pun. You’ll get it… keep reading):

A few months ago I saw a post on Facebook from Carey Lea (a personal trainer that I had met a couple times, but with whom I share several mutual friends) saying that she was going to be giving away a 90 Day Fitness package. Entry was simple – send her a bit of information about yourself and tell her your story and why you feel you would be a good candidate for the program. I hesitated to participate being as I have already been fairly successful in losing weight and understand that there are plenty of people out there who “need” it more than me. But, with the encouragement of a friend, I decided to at least give it a shot. If I didn’t get it, no harm, no foul.

Much to my surprise, I received an email from Carey saying that I had been chosen as one of three finalist for the program. She asked me to come in for a follow-up interview so she could get a better feel for who I am and my history. I met with her and recounted my success to this point as well as my frustrations with being stuck where I am, even though I’m so close to my goal. We went through my family history, support system, eating habits… you know. That kind of thing. Her final question to me was simple, “Why do you think you should win this package?” The words fell out of my mouth without hesitation. “Because I want to change. No, I need to. I can’t keep living the way I am right now. It’s not an option. I won’t make it unless I change.” Hmm… I was caught off guard by my answer, but I can’t argue it’s validity. That is truth and it’s 100% of the reason winning was important to me.

As I waited for Carey to select her lucky winner, I prayed that if it was going to be something I would fail at, to please let someone else have it. But if it was what I needed to get from where I am to where I want to be as a person in both body and spirit, then select me and give me the strength to follow through.
That afternoon I got a call from Carey asking me if I wanted to accept her help. Full of excitement and fear, I agreed.

The package is pretty extensive – personal training sessions, nutrition and food prep lessons, supplements, counselling and medical care (if needed) and, as the reward for whipping this tired body into shape, a makeover and photo shoot at the end.

I am now 5 days in and still feel the same sense of excitement and fear as when I accepted. So far I have put in the work and completed each workout as scheduled. This means getting up early and driving to the other side of town before work each morning. If you’ve been around me at all, you know this is and will continue to be the most difficult thing for me. I really don’t understand you morning people. It’s terrible.
I have yet to start any real nutrition changes yet, although for my own sake, I’ve been avoiding greasy, delicious foods. Tomorrow night Carey and I will go shopping, so that will all be sorted out.

I’ve had a lot of people comment to me that they’re jealous… and they should be. I’ve been blessed with an amazing opportunity. This is nothing I could afford on my own and I never dreamed I would be able to work with a personal trainer. But wait until you see me limping around sore and tired. Wait until we’re at a restaurant and I’m eating a salad while you enjoy your tasty burger and Coke. This gift comes with a price. I’m under no illusion that this will be a cake walk. At some point, I’m going to want to quit. But, all I have to do is convince myself to do what I have to do. If that means taking an hour or two out of my day to put my body through hell, that’s what I have to do. It’s only an hour or two. If that means turning down something that will taste better compared to something that will still fill me up, that’s what I have to do. If that means setting 15 alarms to make sure I’m up at sunrise, that’s what I have to do. For now, the important thing is to focus on daily goals instead of the big picture. You reach a destination one step at a time.

Okay, I’ve talked your ear off (err.. typed your… eyes off. Is that a thing?), but I’ll leave you with this – I hope this will inspire some of you. That’s honestly a lot of my motivation in doing it. Yes, it’s an awesome opportunity, but it’s not like Carey is offering me liposuction, she’s offering me a chance to change my life through hard work and dedication. You may not get to have someone training you, but if you commit to work hard, you can accomplish anything you put your mind to. As I learn more, I plan to share tips that have helped me with you and I plan on being pretty transparent through this whole journey. I hope that you’ll follow along.

For daily updates, you can follow me on Facebook or Twitter.
For more information about Carey, you can check out her Facebook, Twitter or website.

4 thoughts on “90 Day Challenge

  1. I am more than confident that you will will successful at this. For one it’s pretty tough to hide from me. Especially since I am making you give me a key to your house. I am your new best friend 🙂 The best part is accountability. That you have my dear! See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

